May 27, 2009

News: Grabby Winners Announced

The Grabby Awards were presented at the Park West Theatre in Chicago last weekend. As awards season dwindles, Raging Stallion once again waltzed off with the lion’s share of prizes. However, in a minor upset, the San Francisco–based studio won Best Movie for The Drifter instead of for To the Last Man, which previously took top honors at both the GAYVN and XBIZ awards.

The event, along with the International Mr. Leather competition, made for a major weekend for porn fans. The Grabbys were hosted by director Chi Chi LaRue and drag diva Honey West, along with porn star co-hosts Blake Riley, Brent Corrigan and Wolf Hudson (of teabagging fame). Among the winners, Logan McCree took Best Actor for his role in The Drifter. Tattooed hunk McCree also won Best Duo for his scene with real-life boyfriend Vinnie D’Angelo in the same film (the happy couple was celebrating their first anniversary). They shared the award with Zeb Atlas and Adam Killian for Atlas’s topping debut in Falcon’s Best Men. Chad Hunt’s bottoming debut in Endgame took Best Group Scene. Drifter director Tony Dimarco also won for Best Videography. RSS president Chris Ward, who did not attend the show, said in a statement, “I’m extremely proud of my team of talented performers and directors. I am amazed that we won Best Picture this year for two different movies! It shows the depth of our quality.”

Steve Cruz and Diesel Washington shared Performer of the Year. (In a fun bit, LaRue tracked down Washington’s mom in the audience, saying that she wanted to meet the woman who gave birth to him!) On stage, Washington (who also took Best Porn Star Blog) announced that his buddies Damien Crosse and Francesco D’Macho were tying the knot in Spain! Dean Flynn won Best Versatile Performer (and thanked Titan Media for allowing him to “explore both sides of his personality”), and Brent Corrigan took Hottest Bottom (see below). Antonio Biaggi won for Hottest Cock (duh!). Hot House director Steven Scarborough received a Lifetime Achievement Award. The Best Newcomer award was shared by Cameron Marshall and Kyle King. “I’m still kind of in shock,” C1R exclusive Marshall said. “I couldn’t believe it when they called my name. It was such a big surprise, and I’m so thankful and honored.”

For a complete list of winners, visit

No comments: