March 17, 2009

News: GAYVN Awards Announce Hall of Famers

GAYVN has announced its inductees into the 2009 GAYVN Hall of Fame. Veteran director and Hall of Fame member Gino Colbert will once again present the honorees with their awards during the GAYVN Awards on Saturday, March 28, at the Castro Theatre in San Francisco. This year’s inductees are:

Dean Phoenix (above) made his debut in 1998 and went on to become a GAYVN Award winner and an icon in the industry. Despite retiring in 2000, he made a triumphant return in the 2004 Buckshot classic BuckleRoos and has continued his hot streak with films such as Brotherhood, Forever Young and On Fire!

Michael Lucas (below) has won numerous GAYVN Awards for his many films, including Dangerous Liaisons, La Dolce Vita, The Intern and Gigolo, and has cemented his stature as an A-list director and performer with both his own studio, New York–based Lucas Entertainment, and his own distribution company, Lucas Distribution.

Chris Steele started his career as a performer for many studios before turning to writing, producing and directing (Big Dick Society). He’s a GAYVN and Grabby Award winner and is currently head honcho at Jet Set Men.

Dink Flamingo
is a pioneer in amateur Web site content, filming men from nearby military bases for In 2007, he branched out with a new video line, Dirty Bird Pictures (The Porn Ultimatum), and recently helped Brent Corrigan launch his own studio, Prodigy Pictures (Summit).

Jack Simmons was the first African-American model to work for major studios, including Falcon (The Freshmen), Titan Media (Naked Escape) and All Worlds (Animus).

Phil St. John
was the first to shoot a double-penetration scene in gay porn, the first to shoot gay porn focused on skate culture and the first to include a behind-the-scenes extra for a DVD. He is best-known for Skateboard Sliders, Getting It at the Rave, Taggers and Double Delights.

TJ Paris is a San Francisco native who got started in the biz in 1985 and discovered stars such as Paul Morgan and Rob Steele.

Colbert will also present the Lifetime Achievement Award to Roger Earl, who co-founded (with Terry LeGrand) Marathon Films and edited, wrote and directed 16 mm films before forming the Gay Producers Association of America (also with LeGrand), which presented the first gay porn awards. He worked at the Tom of Finland Foundation until he retired in 2007.

For more information, visit

1 comment:

Jaxon said...

I'm glad to see Dink Flamingo on the list of honerees. He's been in the biz a long time and I'm a huge fan of his work.