September 27, 2010

Short Takes: GAYVN Award Winners…and More


Raging Stallion rages on! For the third year in a row, the San Francisco–based studio took the top prize at the GAYVN Awards, which were handed out on Friday night. Comedian Alec Mapa hosted the show at the Castro Theatre, where RSS’s big-budget Focus/Refocus epic took four of the six awards it was nominated for, including Best Feature Release, Best Director (Chris Ward, Tony Dimarco and Ben Leon in a tie with Joe Gage for Dad Takes a Fishing Trip), Best Supporting Actor (Steve Cruz) and Best Videography. But it was Channel 1 Releasing that took home the most awards (six), for its various C1R, Rascal and All Worlds Video imprints, including Best Affiliate Program, Best Live Webcam/Webshow and Best Web-Based Marketing. They also nabbed the Best-Renting Title award for Steven Daigle: XXXPOSED. Former Big Brother reality star Daigle made a splash in his GAYVN debut by wearing only a cowboy hat on-stage. Lucas Entertainment walked off with three awards, including Best-Selling Title for Men of Israel and Best Alternative Release for Men in Stockings, though company president Michael Lucas was not there to accept. On the porn star side, Logan McCree (above) won Best Actor for RSS’s The Visitor; Conner Habib was voted Best Newcomer; and Rafael Alencar took Best Cumshot for Lucas’s Wall Street. It was also a good night for the Brents, as Brent Corrigan was named Web Performer of the Year, and C1R exclusive Brent Everett got Best Porn Star Site and Overall Fan Favorite. Speaking of fans, Sister Roma edged out Chi Chi LaRue and Jason Sechrest for the fan-voted GAYVN Personality of the Year, and Wilfried Knight received the coveted Performer of the Year title. Other highlights: Best Fetish Release went to Hot House’s Skuff 4, and Best Sex Comedy was Dominic Ford’s Harry Potter satire Whorrey Potter and the Sorcerer’s Balls. Director Gino Colbert once again did the Hall of Fame inductions, this year for Ryan Block, Mike Donner, Bill Marlowe, Matthew Rush and Mickey Skee. Filmmaker Pat Rocco was recognized with the Lifetime Achievement Award. To see a complete list of winners, click here.…Also this weekend, Raging Stallion announced its annual Man of the Year at a party at Suite 181. Once again, one man was not enough, and president Chris Ward named exclusives D.O. and Adam Champ as this year’s co-titleholders. “The selection process was very difficult as we have a group of exclusives who are the finest actors in the business,” Ward says. “D.O. and Adam, however, rank as the top performers in our industry and I am proud to have them both as the top representatives of our company.” D.O. has already starting filming for the studio after ending a deal with Black Scorpion, and Champ recently gave up his job as a COLT Man (with hubby Carlo Masi) to make the move to RSS.…On Sunday, leather and fetish studs and their furry admirers gathered for the annual Folsom Street Fair. So basically every porn star from every other weekend event was seen, including Samuel O’Toole, Landon Mycles (killer abs!) and James Jameson (below). Congrats to all. Now go take a nap, you guys!


Anonymous said...

Who are the other two guys in the picture with "Samuel O’Toole, Landon Mycles (killer abs!) and James Jameson"? Esp the 2nd guy from the left? - TonyB

Vincent Lambert said...

No idea, Tony. Can anyone identify these two studs?